Skip to main content

Community Investment

Investing in the community is the very heart of the United Way. It is the distribution of the funds raised in the community and the evaluation of the effective use of those funds. Community Investment in Franklin County is carried out entirely by volunteers with the assistance of United Way staff.

There will never be enough money to fund human services at the level needed or desired; thus, the volunteer’s role is a unique one. It requires the ability to understand the constraints of human service providers, disregard personal bias, and focus on the greater community. Volunteers work together in groups, with each individual member having their own perspective; the group will thus reach a consensus made by decisions tempered with common sense and caring.

There must be accountability on the part of all agencies so that the thousands of Franklin County residents who donate to the United Way can trust the Community Investment process. Donors expect their funds to be used wisely and efficiently to meet the county’s human service needs.

The Community Investment process is a remarkable one: the guiding philosophy is that the people who live and work in the community can best determine what the community needs. In the end, the volunteer represents and is accountable to the residents of Franklin County who support local human services through donations to the United Way. While this may seem a daunting responsibility to assume, it is a responsibility that allows the United Way to work for everyone.

Every year the United Way puts out a request for proposals for partnership and funding to agencies serving clients in Franklin County. Each United Way Area of Service will be open for partnership and funding proposal, begining in late November, every three years, on a rotating basis. The three Areas of Service are: Education, Health and Finanical Stability. 

The 2017 UWFC Area of Service is Financial Stability. Visit Partnership and Funding to learn more. 

2017 Compliance Pannel

  • Co-Chair: Dan Kunhardt
  • Barbara Campbell
  • Amy Clarke
  • Larry Geiser
  • Marvin Kelley
  • Marck Scandling
  • Suzanne Smiley
  • Kristian Whitsett
  • Molly Wood

2017 Program Pannel

  • Co-Chair: Kimberly Green
  • Steven Bradley
  • Mary Cohn
  • Julie Collins
  • Susan Dillon
  • Thomas Doody
  • Marvin Kelly
  • Michael Lewis
  • Lisa McKenna
  • Wanda Mooney
  • Matthew Ramon